The direction and focus of Friends of Europe’s activities is decided in conjunction with the President, the team and our Board of Trustees.



Viscount Etienne Davignon*

Vice-President of the European Commission (1981-1985)

Board of Trustees


Joaquín Almunia

Vice-President of the European Commission (2010-2014)


László Andor

European Commissioner for Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion (2010-2014)

Michel Barnier 150x150

Michel Barnier

European Commissioner for Internal Market and Services (2010-2014) and European Commission lead Brexit negotiator

Baron Crespo 150x150

Enrique Barón Crespo

President of the International Yehudi Menuhin Foundation, and European Parliament President (1989-1992)

Xavier Bettel_150x150

Xavier Bettel

Prime Minister of Luxembourg

Carl Bildt 150x150

Carl Bildt

Swedish Minister for Foreign Affairs (2006-2014) and former Swedish Prime Minister

Joachim Bitterlich 150x150

Joachim Bitterlich

Diplomatic Advisor to Helmut Kohl (1987-1998)


Franziska Katharina Brantner

Member of the German Bundestag, and Member of the European Parliament (2009-2013)


Elmar Brok

Chairman of the European Parliament Committee on Foreign Affairs

bruton 150x150

John Bruton

Prime Minister of Ireland’s Rainbow Coalition government (1994-1997)

Pat Cox 150x150

Pat Cox

President of the European Parliament (2002-2004) and former Irish TV journalist

Cox Robert 150x150

Robert Cox

Senior Advisor to the European Community Humanitarian Office (1993-1998) and former European Commission Representative to Turkey

Jaap de hoop Scheffer 150x150

Jaap de Hoop Scheffer

President of the Dutch Advisory Council on International Affairs, NATO Secretary General (2004-2009)

Daniel Daianu 150x150

Daniel Daianu

Member of the Board of the National Bank of Romania and former Finance Minister of Romania

Anna Diamantopoulou 150x150

Anna Diamantopoulou

President of the Network-DIKTYO, Greek Minister for Education and Development (2009-2012), and former European Commissioner for Employment and Social Affairs


Mikolaj Dowgielewicz

European Investment Bank Representative to the EU institutions, and former Secretary of State for European Affairs and Economic Policy

Jean Pierre Jouyet 150x150

Jean-Pierre Jouyet

Elysée's Secretary General, and French Secretary of State for European Affairs (2007-2008)

Sorin Ducaru 150x150

Sorin Ducaru

Assistant Secretary General for emerging security challenges at NATO

Tanja_Fajon 150x150

Tanja Fajon

Vice-Chair of the European Parliament Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats


Monica Frassoni

Co-President of the European Green Party, and Member of the European Parliament (1999-2009)

Stefan Füle_150x150

Štefan Füle

EU Commissioner for Enlargement and European Neighbourhood Policy (2010-2014)

Catherine Gernay 150x150

Catherine Gernay

Member of the Management Board and Director of Veolia Environnement and Cliniques de l’Europe


Ana Gomes

Member of the European Parliament


Elisabeth Guigou

President of the French National Assembly's Foreign Affairs Committee


Toomas Hendrik Ilves

President of the Republic of Estonia (2006 – 2016)

Daniel Janssen 150x150

Baron Daniel Janssen

President of the Board of Directors of Solvay (1998-2006), and Member of the Executive Committee of the Trilateral Commission

Sony Kapoor 150x150

Sony Kapoor

Managing Director of the think tank Re-Define

Miroslav Lajcak 150x150

Miroslav Lajčák

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Slovak Republic

Pascal Lamy 150x150

Pascal Lamy

Honorary President of Notre Europe - Jacques Delors Institute, and Director General of the World Trade Organisation (2005-2013)

Spiro Latsis 150x150

Spiro Latsis

Member of the Board of the John S. Latsis Public Benefit Foundation

Yves Leterme 150x150

Yves Leterme

Secretary General of the International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance (IDEA), and former Prime Minister of Belgium

Linkevicius Linas Antanas 150x150

Linas Antanas Linkevicius

Lithuanian Minister of Foreign Affairs

Philip Lowe 150x150

Philip Lowe

Director General of the European Commission (2002-2014)

monti 102x102

Mario Monti

Prime Minister of Italy (2011-2013) and former European Commissioner


Alojz Peterle

Member of the European Parliament, and former Prime Minister of Slovenia

Andris Piebalgs 150x150

Andris Piebalgs

European Commissioner for Development (2010-2014)

Hans Gert Pottering 150x150

Hans-Gert Pöttering

Member, and President (2007-2009) of the European Parliament

Paul Revay 150x150

Paul Révay

European Director of the Trilateral Commission

Jacek Saryusz-Wolski 150x150

Jacek Saryusz-Wolski

Member of the European Parliament, and Polish Minister for European Affairs (1991-1996, 2000-2001)


Koos Richelle

Director General of the European Commission (2011-2014)

Marietje Schaake

Marietje Schaake

Member of the European Parliament

Jamie Shea 150x150

Jamie Shea

Deputy Assistant Secretary General for Emerging Security Challenges Division at NATO


Javier Solana

EU High Representative for the Common Foreign and Security Policy (1999-2009) and former Spanish Minister for Foreign Affairs

Martin SCHULZ - EP President meets with Anna TERRON I  CUSI

Anna Terrón

President of Instrategies

Frans Van Daele 150x150

Frans Van Daele

Chief of Staff to the King of Belgium, and Head of Cabinet to the President of the European Council (2009-2012)


Herman Van Rompuy

President of the European Council (2009-2014) and former Prime Minister of Belgium

Frank Vandenbroucke 150x150

Frank Vandenbroucke

University Professor, and Belgian Deputy Prime Minister (1994–1995)

Androulla Vassiliou 150x150

Androulla Vassiliou

European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism, Sport, Media and Youth (2010-2014)

Guy Verhofstadt 150x150

Guy Verhofstadt

Leader of Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE) in the European Parliament, and former Prime Minister of Belgium

Wand-Danielsson 150x150

Veronika Wand-Danielsson

Swedish Ambassador in Paris


Fernand de Donnea*

Honorary Chairman and former CEO of CBC Banque


Thomas Leysen*

Chairman of the KBC Group and of Umicore; Chairman of the King Baudouin Foundation and of the Rubenianum Fund


Baron Jan Grauls**

Former secretary-general at the Belgian Ministry of Foreign Affairs

*  Member of the Management Board
** Member of the General Assembly