PowerPoint Presentation

EYL40 goes global! Introducing our newest Young Leaders

For the first time in its history, the European Young Leaders’ programme will welcome Young Leaders from North America and the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) to meet and discuss with their European counterparts at our upcoming seminar in Tallinn, Estonia from 14-16 September. To learn more about the seminar, please refer to the programme.

We are delighted to reveal the Young Leaders from North America and MENA:

Nabeel Abboud-Ashkar, Palestine
Co-Founder & Artistic Director, Polyphony Foundation

Seif Abou Zaid, Egypt
Founder & Chief Executive Officer, Mavericks International School

Abdallah Absi, Lebanon
Founder & Chief Executive Officer, Zoomaal

Wajahat Ali, USA
Journalist, Author and Playwright

Ines Amri, Tunisia
Deputy Secretary-General, Maghreb Economic Forum

Tammam Azzam, Syria

Terry Beech, Canada
Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard

Ahmed Ben Mussa, Libya
Chief Commercial Officer, Tatweer Research

Chaima Bouhlel, Tunisia
President, Al Bawsala

Yostina Boules, Egypt
Founder & Managing Director, Taqa Solutions

Ruth Ellen Brosseau, Canada
Member of Parliament & Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Fisheries, Oceans, and the Canadian Coast Guard

Alex Budak, USA
Executive Director, University of California Berkeley Center for Leadership

Hala Bugaighis, Libya
Co-Founder, Jusoor

Lina Ejeilat, Jordan
Co-Founder & Executive Editor, 7iber

Othman El Ferdaous, Morocco
Secretary of State for Investment

Mamoun Ghallab, Morocco
Founder, MakeSense

Sabrina Hersi Issa, USA
Chief Executive Officer, Be Bold Media

Victoria Herrmann, Canada
President & Managing Director, The Arctic Institute

Sami Hourani, Jordan
Executive Director, Leaders of Tomorrow

Derek Johnson, USA
Executive Director, Global Zero

Sarah Jones, USA
Award-winning Journalist

Adele Luta, USA
Research Affiliate, Brain & Cognitive Sciences Dept., Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Meghan Milloy, USA
Co-Founder, Republican Women for Progress

Ayman Mhanna, Lebanon
Executive Director, Samir Kassir Foundation

Imen Ben Mohamed, Tunisia
Member of the Tunisian National Constituent Assembly

Negar Mortazavi, Iran
Journalist and Media Analyst

Ilhan Omar, USA
Representative for District 60B, Minnesota House of Representatives

Fadi Quran, Palestine
Senior Campaigner, Avaaz

Kira Radinsky, Israel
Chief Scientist & Director of Data Science, eBay

Sam Rasoul, USA
Delegate for the 11th District, Virginia House of Delegates

Anita Sarkeesian, Canada
Founder, Feminist Frequency

Robert Shirkey, Canada
Executive Director, Our Horizon


EYL40 alumni and members of the current class who will also be in Tallinn include: Kaja Kallas, Member of the European Parliament, Estonia; Aaron Farrugia, Secretary of State for European Funds & Social Dialogue, Malta; Javier Gonzalez Alvarez, International Director of Digimarc, Spain; Ewa Szmidt-Belcarz, President of the Management Board of Empik Group, Poland; and Eleni Antoniadou, Co-founder of Transplants Without Donors, Greece.

Led by Friends of Europe, each year the European Young Leaders (EYL40) programme brings together talented, established leaders, aged 40 and under, who have made their mark in a wide range of fields such as politics, science, business, media, NGOs, the arts and civil society.  You can find more information about the programme in the EYL40 overview.