Who are the 40 European Young Leaders for 2017?

Download profiles of all 40 members of the Class of 2017

Top politicians and figures from the worlds of business, culture and NGOs complete the line-up of 40 European Young Leaders in the Class of 2017.

The final group of ten people nominated under Friends of Europe’s EYL40 programme are:

Ines Arrimadas Garcia / Leader of the Opposition in the Catalan parliament

Adil El Arbi / Belgian film director

Virginia Raggi / Mayor of Rome

Muna Duzdar / Austrian Secretary of State for Diversity, Public Service and Digitalisation

Aaron Farrugia / Maltese businessman and a leading figure in the Maltese Labour Party

Neža Kogovšek Šalamon / Director of the Peace Institute in Slovenia

Sébastien Pilard / Former advisor to Nicolas Sarkozy, businessman and parliamentary candidate

Agnija Šeiko / Award-winning Lithuanian choreographer and dancer

Cezary Tomczyk / Polish MP and shadow defence minister

Davor Tremac / General Manager for Southeast Europe at Uber

What’s next?

Stay tuned for more information on the programme and the activities of the new class and the alumni – follow EYL 40 on Twitter and Facebook.

About the programme

The EYL40 programme is now five years old. It is the only initiative to bring together established talent from across Europe in a wide range of fields. European Young Leaders include entrepreneurs, academics, politicians, media and cultural figures and civil society representatives.

Our programme helps European Young Leaders meet, debate and work together to shape our continent’s future. The programme is organised under the patronage of Mr Jean-Claude Juncker, President of the European Commission, and the Board of Trustees of Friends of Europe.

The 40 European Young Leaders are all aged 40 or under. They were selected by members of Friends of Europe’s Board of Trustees, which includes 11 former prime ministers.

Download profiles of all 40 members of the Class of 2017