Ten more names added to Class of 2017

An Olympic gold medallist, a top chef, a sat-nav pioneer and leading politicians are among the next ten names revealed as part of the “Class of 2017” under Friends of Europe’s European Young Leaders programme.

The EYL40 programme – now five years old – is the only initiative to bring together established talent from across Europe in a wide range of fields. European Young Leaders include entrepreneurs, academics, politicians, media and cultural figures and civil society representatives.

The second group of ten European Young Leaders are:

Kaja Kallas / Estonian Liberal Member of the European Parliament

Marguerite Bérard-Andrieu / CEO for finance, legal affairs and strategy at Groupe BPCE, France’s second-biggest bank

Ozan Yanar / Turkish-born Finnish Green MP

Eleni Antoniadou / Greek scientist, co-founder of Transplants Without Donors, and President of the European Health Parliament

Michal Štencl / Slovakian founder and CEO of Sygic, a world-leading sat-nav company

Fatima Moreira de Melo / Dutch Olympic gold medal-winning hockey player

Julia Obermeier / German CSU MP

Manuel Costescu / Romania’s Secretary of State for Foreign Investments and Public-Private Partnerships

Silvia Console Battilana / Italian economist, CEO of Auctionomics and co-founder of social auctions company xSwan

Eneko Atxa / Chef at his own three-Michelin-starred restaurant, Azurmendi, in the Basque country

Our programme helps European Young Leaders meet, debate and work together to shape our continent’s future. The programme is organised under the patronage of Mr Jean-Claude Juncker, President of the European Commission, and the Board of Trustees of Friends of Europe.

The 40 European Young Leaders, each aged 40 or under, were selected by members of Friends of Europe’s Board of Trustees, which includes 11 former prime ministers.

You can find a list of the first ten names in the Class of 2017 here.

Further names will be revealed in the coming weeks – stay up to date: